P r o j e c t s


Niall Byrne


For a full list of scores: 

Click here for a PDF file


In Darkness
(Feature Film, XYZ Films, 2018)
Starring Natalie Dormer

The Truth Commissioner
(Feature Film, Samson Films, 2015)
Starring Roger Allam

(Feature Film, Subotica, 2014)
Starring David Wilmot,  Maisie Williams and James Nesbitt

(Feature Film, Ripple World Pictures, 2011)
Starring Colm Meaney and Colin Morgan
IFTA Nomination 2010, Best Music in Film

Pelican Blood
(Feature Film, Ecosse Films, 2010)
Starring Harry Treadaway and Emma Booth

Cairo Time
(Feature Film,
Foundry & Samson Films, 2009)
Starring Patricia Clarkson and Alexander Siddig                                          
How About You
(Feature Film, Ferndale Films, 2007)
Hayley Atwell, Vanessa Redgrave, Brenda Fricker, Imelda
Staunton and Joss Ackland

Small Engine Repair
(Feature Film, Subotica Films, 2006)
Starring Iain Glenn and Steven Mackintosh
IFTA Nomination 2007, Best Music in Film
Short Order
(Feature Film, Igloo Films, 2005)
Starring Emma De Caunes, John Hurt & Vanessa Redgrave
IFTA Nomination 2005, Best Music in Film

Trouble with Sex
(Feature Film, Fubar films, 2004)
Starring Aidan Gillen and Renee Weldon
IFTA Nomination 2005, Best Music in Film

The Honeymooners

(Feature Film, Utah/ Samson Films, 200
Indie-style comedy released in UK and Ireland in Spring 2004


(Feature Film, Indi Films/ Pandora, 2000)
Award-winning film about the experiences of a young boy growing up in Ireland in the 1970's

(Feature Film, Fubar Films, 1999)
Film about a young man's struggle to survive when he gets involved in a drug-dealing underworld in Dublin

Spaghetti Slow
(Feature Film, The Good Film Company, 1996)
Irish-Italian co-production with Brendan Gleeson as a father whose daughter runs away with an Italian student

Words Upon the Window Pane
(Feature Film, Pembridge/ British screen, 1994)
Starring Geraldine Chaplin, Geraldine James, John Lynch and Jim Sheridan

(Feature Film, Liquid/ Lenfilm/ Universal Pictures, 1992)
Irish-Russian co-production about the fantasies of a young boy growing up in contemporary St. Petersbu


Manhunt (2018)
Three-part ITV drama written by Ed Whitmore and directed by Marc Evans.  London Metropolitan detective Colin Sutton tracks down a serial killer 

Hatton Garden (2018) 
Four-part ITV drama from the same team as Little Boy Blue about the famous UK bank heist
Little Boy Blue (2017) 
Four-part ITV drama written by Jeff Pope and directed by Paul Whittington about the murder of Rhys Jones in Liverpool 

Cilla (2014)
Three-part ITV drama about the singing career of Cilla Black starring Sheridan Smith

The Widower (2013)
Three-part ITV drama about Malcolm Webster starring Reece Shearsmith
Loving Miss Hatto (2012)
Feature length drama about the life of concert pianist Joyce Hatto
(Left Bank Pictures/ Octagon for BBC 1, 2012)  
Won IFTA Award  2013, Best Original Score                 

Single-Handed (Series 4) for ITV/ RTE
(Touchpaper & Element Pictures, 2010) 

Belonging to Laura
(Feature length Drama, Samson Films, 2009

Wild Decembers
(Feature length Drama, Touchpaper, 2009)  
Based upon the Edna O'Brien Novel

Single-Handed (Series 2 & 3)
(Touchpaper & Element Pictures, 2007 - 2008)  
Starring Owen Mc Donnell 
IFTA Nomination 2008, Best Drama Serial

(Feature length drama, Subotica Films, 2007) 
Starring Natalie Press, Olivia Williams and Brendan Coyle
IFTA Nomination 2008, Best Drama
(Frontier Films, 2006) 
Two-part television drama directed by David Caffrey
(Grand Theft
Parsons) reconstructing a disaster at Sellafield nuclear power plant

Little Bird
(Granada/ ITV, 2000).   Feature length drama for ITV
directed by Aisling Walsh and starring Niamh Cusack

La Fr
ere Irlandais
an/ France 2/ RTE, 1998)
Two feature length television dramas set in France and Ireland.  The story of two estranged brothers

Amongst Women
(Parallel Films/ BBC, 1998) 
Multi award-winning, four-part television drama series based on John Mc Gah
ern's novel set in Ireland in the 1950's.


Peek Zoo (Igloo Films, 2018)
26 x 7 minute animated television series based on the successful Irish children's books by Kevin Waldron
The Lost Letter (2017)
Animation short directed by Kealan O'Rourke. Narrated by Kate Winslet. Won the Venus award for Best Score at the 2018 Badalona Film festival in Barcelona


The Boy in the Bubble (2011)
Multi award-winning animation short directed by Kealan O'Rourke. Narrated by Alan Rickman.